Wooden Fish Ensemble (USA)

The Wooden Fish Ensemble plays Hyo-shin Na and Boudewijn Buckinx!

Saturday May 28, 3:00pm
Duration: 90 minutes, no intermission

Tickets: General Admission
$20 in advance, $25 at door

artist name

The Wooden Fish Ensemble will present a program of music by the Korean American composer Hyo-shin Na and the Belgian composer Boudewijn Buckinx. The program will have two exciting premieres: a new work for violin solo by Buckinx and “Koto, Violin” for koto and violin by Na. Also programmed: “Dreaming of Li-Po” by Buckinx and three works by Na - “The Sky Was Beyond Description” for koto/bass koto, “Koto Ninano" for 3 kotos, and “Night Procession of the Hundred Demons” for 3 bass kotos. Four members of the Wooden Fish Ensemble - Terrie Baune, - violin, Shoko Hikage - koto/bass koto, Noriko Tsuboi, - koto/bass koto, and Yuki Yasuda - koto/bass koto - will play these six works.

Facts/unique details about our performance - 1, As a reflection of the cultural diversity of the Bay Area, the program will present music for both western and asian instruments (koto, bass koto and violin). 2, The program will include music by two singular contemporary voices: the Korean composer Hyo-shin Na and the Belgian composer Boudewijn Buckinx. 3, As the concert will include the world premiere of a work by each of the composers, it is a manifestation of their most recent efforts as well as a look into their work of the past 20 years.

The Wooden Fish Ensemble presents concerts of music and musicians from a variety of cultural and national backgrounds working together in a collaborative way. The Ensemble has presented concerts of traditional music from Asia and new music by a diverse group of composers that includes John Cage, Christian Wolff, Frederic Rzewski, Morton Feldman, Hyo-shin Na and Walter Zimmermann. They have given numerous world premieres.


Fight your California speeding ticket and win here. Fight your red light camera ticket here. Fight your cell phone ticket here.